Ginger Waffles

022 (2)

When I was younger I didn’t like pancakes but loved waffles, makes total sense right? Something about the perfectly arranged little syrup bowls were so much more appealing imbedded in my breakfast than a flat old pancake! When we first got a waffle maker, it was waffles every Saturday for probably too long, not that you can ever have too many waffles. Since moving out I have not had a waffle maker with me, and naturally gravitated toward pancakes, but boy do I miss waffles and these ginger ones took it to a whole new level!

024 (2)

They’re slightly sweetened with maple syrup and a touch of cane sugar, with a nutty undertone of almond, citrus hint from lemon, and of course a lovely swirl of ginger. I always include molasses in my ginger recipes for that extra special flavour, and topped with pecans these babies had me smiling all morning! They’d be a perfect Christmas breakfast, but I plan to include these delicious waffles in to my weekly breakfast plan 🙂

Ingredients – Makes 3 small waffles

  • 1 tbs coconut oil (or canola oil)
  • 1 tbs molasses
  • 1 tbs cane sugar (or maple syrup)
  • 1 tbs maple syrup
  • 2 tbs ground flaxseed
  • 1 tsp almond extract
  • 1 tsp lemon juice (or orange extract)
  • 3/4 cup of whole wheat flour (or buck wheat)
  • 1 tbs almond meal (or flour)
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp  sea salt
  • 1/2 tbs of ginger
  • 1/4 cup pecan pieces (optional)
  • 1/2 cup of mik (nut, hemp or rice)

Directions

  1. Melt the coconut oil, add the sweeteners, flaxseed and almond. Let sit for a few minutes.
  2. Mix the flour, baking soda/powder, spices and salt  then add to the wet mixture.
  3. Stir in the milk to the mixture.
  4. Add abit of flour to slightly cover the  nut add ins, then gently mix in to the batter being careful not to overmix.
  5. Lightly grease a waffle iron and bake on medium until ready!

Best served warm, or could be refrigerated for 2 days.I have not tried freezing them myself but they should keep for up to 7-10 days frozen.

Leave a comment