Roasted Veggies and Quinoa Plate

001

I was abit late to the quinoa craze after being heavily deterred from a failed recipe. I don’t think I rinsed it well enough and all I remember tasting is a weird, earthy, bitter taste. Then I went and overseasoned it with spices I’m not familiar with…bleh! Still impressed with the health of it, I wanted to try it again but was so scared of wasting money on a food I hated. Then I had a delicious quinoa salad at a vegetarian place here in Waterloo and faith was restored!

006

I love roasted veggies alot, and figured they’d go well with some quinoa and hummus. Boy was that an underestimation…this was delicious!! I was truly in shock when I devoured tasted it. I made it for my mom who also loved it, and have had it about 3 times in the past week 🙂 No shame!

003

Ingredients

  • 2 small/medium sweet potatoes, organic if you can
  • 1 medium/large eggplant, firm and shiny
  • 1 tbs balsamic vinegar
  • 1-2 bell pepper (I used red but any works)
  • 2 medium zucchini
  • few drizzles of olive oil
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/3 cup of quinoa
  • dollop of hummus
  • 1/2 avocado, sliced
  • smoked paprika and lemon pepper salt (optional)

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 375F.
  2. Start by cutting up the sweet potatoes into small 1″ cubes. Leave the skin on if organic but I would peel if conventional. Drizzle with olive oil, salt and pepper until lightly coated and place on baking sheet. Let bake for 35-40 minutes or until tender.
  3. Wash the pepper and lightly rub with olive oil. Place on baking sheet and bake for 35 minutes or until skin is wrinkled.
  4. Meanwhile slice the eggplant into thin strips, about 1 cm thick. Slice the strips into smaller rectangles and coat with olive oil, salt and pepper, balsamic vinegar and place on baking sheet. Let bake for about 30 minutes until tender.
  5. Slice the zucchini into 1 cm thick rounds and then slice each in half. Lightly coat with olive oil, salt and pepper. Spread on baking sheet and bake for 20-25 minutes or until tender.
  6. While the veggies are roasting rinse the quinoa thoroughly using a fine strainer. Add to a pot with 2/3 cup of water, bring to a boil and then let simmer for 15-20 minutes until water is absorbed and quinoa is light and fluffy.
  7. When everything is ready, assemble your plate with all of the goodies, topping with hummus and avocado, as well as any seasonings/spices your heart desires.

Best served warm from the oven, with plenty of toppings!

Store in an airtight container for up to 5 days or in the freezer for up to 3 months.

Leave a comment